Boss Mama: Jessie

I had the pleasure of collaborating with Jessie, a new mom from England to baby girl Noa . Jessie co-runs a blog called Wokemamas, it’s about advocating breastfeeding, gentle parenting and empowering women globally. This momma has accomplished a lot in life so far and she’s definitely going to achieve more success. You can catch her uplifting moms, posting adorable photos of Noa and sharing new Wokemamas on her blog wokemamas.com and her ig Instagram.com/wokemamas

Can you introduce yourself, where you’re from, what you do?

My name is Jessie, I’m currently a stay at home mum with cheeky 1year old Noa. Prior to becoming my daughters mummy, I was in girl band “neon jungle”. Before and after that I’ve done acting and held various temporary retail jobs. Oh, I was a nanny for a little bit too. Oh and a teachers assistant. Just a few career pathsπŸ˜†

What does being a mother mean to you ?

Loving like I never thought was possible. Caring like I never thought was possible. Being fearless and selfless and worried all at the same time. Watching my daughter grow into the little lady she will one day be is the greatest gift life could of ever offered to me. In just 13months she has already taught me so much about myself. How to live in the present, how to prioritise the shit the matters and more importantly the shit that doesn’t!

What made you start wokemamas?

Myself and Cle aka Iyra’s Mummy aka business partner and favourite mummy friend, started wokemamas on a whim after a group WhatsApp conversation. We were talking generally about mums we follow on Instagram and how much we admire them for putting the sleeves out there. (As we would be too chicken to do so alone!) Thats when I suggested doing something as a group. Next think I knew, Cle had bought domain name and had blog up and running ha. The rest is history.

Can you tell us what gentle parenting is and why it’s important to you?

https://wokemamas.com/2017/08/04/wtf-is-gentle-parenting/

https://wokemamas.com/2017/07/03/woke-mama-jessie/

I LOVE your curls !! What are you favorite THANK you πŸ™‚ it’s taken me a while to get them to how they used to be! I’ve always been a curly girl (have a big head so need the volume to balance everything out), but for some absurd reason decided to start straightening it when we were Neon Jungle were on tour (oh the pressures of society *eye roll*)

The products that I am currently using are:

CANTU cleansing cream shampoo ANGEL PROFESSIONAL helichrysum pure nourishing mask
SHEA MOISTURE curling enhancing smoothie
OLIVADO extra virgin Avocado oil.

When did you curly hair journey start?

So where I completely fucked my natural hair with all the bleach and straightening. I one day woke up (after taking a weave out) and decided enough was enough and shaved it off February 2015.

I was a bit slap dash with what products I used (still), till after I gave birth, and the healthy shiny pregnancy hormones had ran out. My hairline was so fragile and LOADS fell out (I remember crying in the bath after washing my hair once it was so bad). So although it started after I shaved it all in 2015, it got a revamp 2017 in the new year

Any advice you’d like to give to other new mommas ?

Take all advice with a pinch of salt and always trust your gut instincts! You got dis!πŸ˜†

26 Comments Add yours

  1. jlizette4426 says:

    I love this post! Truly inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karla says:

    Oh I love this post!! She’s beautiful and I love the curls!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your family is so beautiful. I loved this post it is so inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shesbeaming says:

      Thank you ! Glad you liked it !

      Like

  4. lupwai says:

    Love this post. Going to check out the gentle parenting post …

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Moms best 10 says:

    Beautiful pictures! Love this post

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bri says:

    “Loving like I never thought was possible. Caring like I never thought was possible. Being fearless and selfless and worried all at the same time.” YES THIS IS EVERYTHING! Being a mom is a full time job, and challenges you beyond belief in the best way possible!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shesbeaming says:

      It definitely does ! Couldn’t agree more. I love being a mom it’s challenging but the most rewarding

      Like

  7. aswetravl says:

    Beautiful post, and love the photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Rose Angelie says:

    “Loving like I never thought was possible. Caring like I never thought was possible. Being fearless and selfless and worried all at the same time. ” This is how I exactly feel when I had my first born, 7 years ago! It’s amazing how our love can grow. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shesbeaming says:

      Yes ! I felt this way when I had my daughter 7 months ago. It really is amazing how we can love another person more then anything

      Like

  9. Morgan says:

    This interview is great! So inspiring to read her story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shesbeaming says:

      Thank you ! Glad you enjoyed it 😊

      Like

  10. Dieter says:

    A smile a day, keeps the doctor away, lovely you made me smile

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sosi's Mom says:

    I like reading interviews, getting other peoples perspectives on motherhood is so nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shesbeaming says:

      It is ! I enjoy reading them too

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Dyana @adebtfreejourney says:

    I just had my second child and ALL of my edges seemed to have run away…I was devastated! I completely understand her pain but the little bundle of joy is so worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shesbeaming says:

      Congrats ! After I had my daughter one December my hair was shedding so much I almost thought my hair was falling outs. But the 9 months of pregnancy and after are all worth it for them

      Like

  13. Such an inspiration! You definitely embody a strong mom who is taking life by the horns!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Karla says:

    She’s beautiful!! I love her curls!
    http://www.sweetsbykarla.com

    Like

  15. mydayinlosangeles says:

    Such a beautiful family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

